Lois Vallely Fischer Award for Democratic Student Citizenship

The Acadia University Faculty Association (AUFA) has instituted an annual award, valued up to $2,000, for a student in her or his final year of undergraduate study at Acadia. The Lois Vallely-Fischer Award for Democratic Student Citizenship recognizes the contributions of a senior baccalaureate student who has contributed to the quality of democratic discourse, critical thought, and legitimate contestation in campus or community life, and who has demonstrated leadership in defending student political rights and the interests of disadvantaged groups.

Nominations may be made by students and/or AUFA members. Award recipients will be selected by a committee of AUFA members and will be presented with the award at the Association's annual general meeting in April. In addition to the cash component, recipients will be awarded a memento, and her or his name will be embossed on a plaque in a permanent location in the Student Union Building.

Past Recipients

  • 2018-19 - Laura Fisher
  • 2017-18 - Grace Hamilton-Burge
  • 2015-16 - Maya Basa; Sadie Moland
  • 2014-15 - Stephanie Bethune, Kayla Cunningham
  • 2013-14 - Andrew Crosbie
  • 2012-13 - Emma Cochrane
  • 2011-12 - Robynn Moody
  • 2010-11 - Sarah Story
  • 2009-10 - Brynne Sinclair-Waters, Alison Vervaeke
  • 2008-09 - Kathryn Furtado, Wil Lang
  • 2007-08 - Julie Stewart
  • 2006-07 - Ben Whynot
  • 2005-06 - Sarah O'Connor
  • 2004-05 - Gary Porter
  • 2003-04 - Taralyn McMullen
  • 2002-03 - Michael Marin